Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

Saga Dawa Teachings 2022

Virtual Event Virtual Event

Wed, 22 June @ 5:00 pm

2.30pm (IST), 5pm (AWST/HK), 7pm (AEST)

Khandro Rinpoche will teach on the life and teachings of Buddha Shakyamuni as well as prominent Shakya Shri lineage masters.

Saga Dawa Teachings 2022

Saga Dawa is the most important month of the Himalayan lunar calendar. Within this fourth month falls the anniversary of Buddha Shakyamuni’s birth, enlightenment, and parinirvana. 

Saga Dawa is known as the month of merits (bumgyur dawa), which means “merits multiplied a hundred thousand times.” Vajrayana Buddhists make a point during this month, of increasing practices of mindfulness, generosity, and compassion to further accumulate positivity and merit in this period. Reducing the consumption of meat is also encouraged. 

Saga Dawa 2022 runs from May 31 – June 29, 2022. The birth of the Buddha is commemorated on Tampei Duchen, which this year falls on Monday, June 6. The full moon day, is called Saga Dawa Düchen (Düchen means “great occasion”) and in 2022 this falls on Wednesday, Tuesday, June 14. This day is the single most important holy day of the year for Vajrayana Buddhists as it marks the day of Buddha’s enlightenment and parinirvana. 

Registration and Offerings

Register below to receive the Zoom link for the teachings and make offerings from the heart on this page, according to your circumstances.

Scroll to Top