Rajat Kumar

Rajat in 2015

Birthday: 18 June 2004
Commenced with Khachodling: March, 2010
Father: Late Rakesh Kumar
Mother: Tara Devi
Lives: Opt. Petrol pump, New Manali. Distt: Kullu, Manali (H.P.)
School: Monal Himalayan Public School, Manali
Himalayan Culture studies at Drukpa Gompa, Manali on Sundays.

My father died of a heart attack in 2010 and I am the only child brought up by my single mother.

My father died of a heart attack in 2010 and I am the only child brought up by my single mother. It is very difficult to be widowed and in the community; we are looked down upon. My mother works in the field and does some weaving and knitting for our survival. We are from the Lahoul region in Himalayas, we now live in Manali.  
Tara Devi is very grateful to Khachodling for the assistance to her child’s school fees. This has encouraged her own strength to survive in a male dominated society. She feels both financially and morally supported by Khachodling. Over the last five years she feels stronger in confidence and better in health.
Tara Devi is very grateful for Khachodling to provide for her son’s education. She values the unique classes given at Khandro-la’s home. She is so thankful to all Khachodling supporters:

Being in the company of Nuns and Agu-la at Bhutan Gompa leaves a very positive imprint on my child, especially as he has no father figure in his life.  

At school Rajat receives a sound education including English, Maths, Hindi, Social Science and Science.In Science we are learning about the reproductive system and hormones. My favourite subject is Drawing and Maths. I like drawing sceneries and snakes. I play football, cricket and racing. When I am older I wish to be either Engineer or a politician and help my village. My mum likes to take care of me and helps me with my interests. She always prays to the Buddhas for our well-being.  

I return from school at 3:30pm. After half an hour rest I go to tuition for two hours, then spend some time with my kind mother and help her in her errands. I go to bed at 9:30pm. 

At Sunday dharma class I love the flowers in the garden and doing Kora around the Gompa. I love learning mantra’s and chanting the most.

My question for an Australian person: I would like to know about Australian crops and weather conditions.

error: Content is protected !!
Scroll to Top